NEW YORK, Sept. 1, 2022 – Connecticut Sun forward Brionna Jones has been named the 2022 Kia WNBA Sixth Player of the Year, the WNBA announced today.  She has earned the honor as the league’s top reserve for the first time.

Jones received 53 of 56 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.  Chicago Sky forward/center Azurá Stevens (two) and Washington Mystics forward Myisha Hines-Allen (one) received the other three votes.  To be eligible for the award, a player had to play more games as a reserve than as a starter.

A six-year WNBA veteran, Jones played all 36 of Connecticut’s regular-season games, coming off the bench in 29 games and starting the remaining seven games.  Overall, she averaged 13.8 points, 5.1 rebounds and 1.22 steals in 25.1 minutes per game.  Jones ranked 20th in the WNBA in scoring, fourth in field goal percentage (56.9) and second in offensive rebounds (2.6 per game).

Jones recorded seasons highs of 21 points twice, nine rebounds three times, four assists twice and four steals once.  On June 5, she finished with 21 points, eight rebounds, three assists and two steals as a reserve in a 93-86 win over the Seattle Storm.

Jones was named a WNBA All-Star for the second consecutive season.  She helped Connecticut post a 25-11 record and earn the No. 3 seed in the 2022 WNBA Playoffs presented by Google.

This is the second year in a row that Jones has won an annual performance award.  Last season, she was selected as the 2021 Kia WNBA Most Improved Player.

Jones is the third player to win the Kia WNBA Sixth Player of the Year Award with the Sun, joining Jonquel Jones (2018) and Renee Montgomery (2012).  In honor of being named the WNBA Sixth Player of the Year, Jones will receive $5,150 and a specially designed trophy by Tiffany & Co.

Below are the voting results for the 2022 Kia WNBA Sixth Player of the Year Award and the list of recipients since the award’s inception in 2007.



Votes                     Player                                     Team

53                          Brionna Jones                    Connecticut Suns

2                            Azurá Stevens                             Chicago Sky
1                            Myisha Hines-Allen                   Washington Mystics



Year                      Player                                     Team

2022                      Brionna Jones                  Connecticut Suns

2021                      Kelsey Plum                              Las Vegas Aces

2020                      Dearica Hamby                       Las Vegas Aces

2019                      Dearica Hamby                       Las Vegas Aces

2018                      Jonquel Jones                         Connecticut Sun

2017                      Sugar Rodgers                        New York Liberty

2016                      Jantel Lavender                     Los Angeles Sparks

2015                      Allie Quigley                            Chicago Sky

2014                      Allie Quigley                            Chicago Sky

2013                      Riquna Williams                     Tulsa Shock

2012                      Renee Montgomery                  Connecticut Sun

2011                      DeWanna Bonner                  Phoenix Mercury

2010                      DeWanna Bonner                  Phoenix Mercury

2009                      DeWanna Bonner                  Phoenix Mercury

2008                      Candice Wiggins                  Minnesota Lynx

2007                      Plenette Pierson                  Detroit Shock



About Kia America

Headquartered in Irvine, California, Kia America continues to top automotive quality surveys and is recognized as one of the 100 Best Global Brands. Kia serves as the “Official Automotive Partner” of the NBA, WNBA, and NBA G League and offers a complete range of vehicles sold through a network of more than 750 dealers in the U.S., including several cars and SUVs proudly assembled in America.


For media information, including photography, visit To receive custom email notifications for press releases the moment they are published, subscribe at



# # #